At CreditLadder, we put our users first in how we develop our products and services. As a registered user with the site, you can request that your account either be disabled or permanently deleted. This article is about the process required to request a user account be permanently deleted, distinct from disabling and cancelling an account.
1. Disable or cancel an account
Disabled (recommended), this will end the reporting with us but ensures we can report your last rent and end date to Experian. This means a clean record for rent reporting with CreditLadder. We hold the reported rent information at CreditLadder but stop further reporting to Experian. You can also access your account to retrieve past information.
This is the best way for us to answer any future questions. You can do this by login into your CreditLadder account and go to "Rent Reporting" click "Move house" and follow the instructions. If you need help with this let me us know on email@example.com.
2. Delete an account.
Delete everything, with no record of your account. We cannot assist in any future data queries and Experian rent reporting will have no end date provided so will show as "Active". Please allow 2 working days for this to be processed if this is your choice.
This cannot be undone, and we won’t be able to recover any of your data including your rent reporting details in the future. Please refer to this article to understand what information will be deleted once you make this request.
Note that in permanently deleting your user account you relinquish the following benefits:
- The ability to make edits to the site
- See your previous rent reporting history or allow us to assist you with queries relating to this or the Rental Information on your credit report.
- Receive opted in email alerts so you can stay up to date
- Access the benefits of paid subscriptions (CreditLadder Plus)
If you have no intention of making site edits, accessing rent history, or using CreditLadder features now, or ever in the future, you may submit a request to be permanently deleted to firstname.lastname@example.org for evaluation. Please submit your request from the email address linked to the user account in reference and include the following:
- First name
- Last name
- Request type (“user account request to be forgotten”)
- Reason for your request to permanently delete your user account
If you do request all of your information to be deleted we will not have a reference point for any future queries which you or the Credit Reference Agencies may have.
Once information is deleted from our systems any rental data already reported to Experian will remain with them.